You Have To Learn To Pace Yourself…

It’s crunch time. I’m feeling the pressure.

My blogging buddy, Older Eyes, was kind enough to once again give me (undeserved) props in his entry today. One wonders what Older Eyes and I see in each other… no pun intended. He’s got a good sense of humor, for sure, but if you read his stuff and you read my stuff, you’ll immediately see that we are not exactly two peas in a proverbial pod. Aside from the 30+ year age difference and the fact that we live on exact opposite coasts of the country, there are other differences as well. (He’s consciously working the steps; I’m consciously trying to figure out how to turn my empty-bottle wine rack into a full-bottle wine rack. Just for instance.) But what I appreciate about his stuff is that it’s thoughtful, and it’s true to what’s on his mind at the time he writes it. It’s diverse, which is to say it tells the story of a life that’s been complete before (hopefully long before) it’s been completed. It’s as likely to make you smile serenely as it is to make you think. It’s gentle and sometimes rather zen. It reminds me of my better self.

My stuff, on the other hand, fairly smacks you in the face. I’m not a violent person, so if you met me you might find me much more like Older Eyes than you’d think, but apparently my process of self-expression is a tad different.

So today, my buddy Older Eyes tells his entire reading universe of readers about my blog. And I totally appreciate the nod. I really do. It’s so great when other writers find your writing to be promising.

But Bud, I gotta tell ya… I’m a little stressed now.

I love to make people laugh-slash-think, but my last entry was rather short on laughter, since it was about Osama bin Laden. Jeff Dunham’s Achmed the Dead Terrorist: funny. Osama bin Laden: rather not. So I’ve been trying to figure out what to do as a follow-up. Now I’ve got a challenge on my hands.

This must be how President Obama felt after he won the Nobel Peace Prize.

I sat here and sat here, fingertips tapping the keys in no particular order, trying to figure out something witty and sharp to say so Older Eyes’ readers wouldn’t click through from his page to mine and go, “bin Laden? That’s not funny,” and write me off entirely. I came up with the fact that today is Cinco de Mayo and, serendipitously, the avacados I bought at the grocery store last week are nearing the overripe stage and I simply must make the intended guacamole today. Apparently I thought this made my Irish and German ass subconsciously connected to this holiday.

You know what I typed next?

“This entry sucks. El Sucko.”

And I scrapped it.

But in hopes of ressurecting myself and lifting up some other bloggers whose brilliance I adore, I present to you this list of nominees for some unnamed award that they should feel no pressure for having received:

Older Eyes – see above
accidentalstepmom – This is the only mommyblog I read, because it’s hilarious and real and it resonates with me.
Twist365 – Jackie is a blog-a-day’er, as is Bud… and she finds humor and irony in everyday life that I appreciate and draw from.
Seasweetie – Nothing makes me happier than photos of the sea. Except for actually being at the sea.
pegoleg – Straight up funny with a dash of “where does she get this stuff?”
japecake – Dude (I’m assuming it’s a dude) is like 75 times smarter than me. It’s amazing what he comes up with. If Jon Stewart and a genius had a baby, and that baby had a blog, it would be japecake.
DavisW – Snark meets spark.
SoonerBlue2 – Politics and irony. Just like the USA.

Isn’t it nice to know you have places to seek higher blogs if you read mine and it blows?

Thank you, Bud. For real.

7 thoughts on “You Have To Learn To Pace Yourself…

  1. Aww..thanks for the shout-out, singlecell – I’m honored. And now I’m excited that I have some new blogs to check out! Being as fond of yours as I am, I feel certain those you recommend will not disappoint. And don’t worry, no pressure. Just be who you are and your blog will be el perfecto.

  2. You just absolutely crack me up!! In some ways you remind me of my daughter … you are so freaking dramatic. And guess what? I KNOW you’re more like me than you’d think at first. First of all, it’s obvious that you love to write … I sense the same thing in your writing that I get when it starts to click. And I thought your Osama post was hysterical! Kidding … but didn’t I post on with a similar tone in Pennies for Your Thoughts?

    What you see as gentle and Zen is probably the result of an additional 30 years of having my sharp edges scoured off by life … I hope you know I can still kick ass when I want to. And … I have a very nice wine rack featuring some nice Pinots as well as a taste for scotch on those night when the Lakers lose. I started working the steps in Al-Anon when someone appeared to be headed down a road to addiction … they stopped but I didn’t. That also accounts for the gentler side.

    No pressure. Relax and write. You might get a chuckle out of this from my first few months of posting: http://oldereyes.wordpress.com/2009/05/13/posters-block/. Terri’s moved on to Into the Mystic in my Blog I Read List but she kept me going.

    • I think you and I are yin and yang, at least in writing style. In the last few years, I’ve mellowed considerably. (Stop laughing.) I’m far less edgy in person now. It’s just that making people laugh is fun for me, so I go for the drama! I believe you can still kick ass, and if you read my bin Laden post and my “The Smell of Spring” post, and my Music Mondays, you know there’s much more to me than the snark. 😉

      I truly do appreciate the mentions you’ve made and links you’ve put on your blog. I’m grateful for every reader you send my way, and I’m glad you enjoy my work, as I do yours!

  3. I’ve gotten a steady stream. One or two or three a day. Which is great! You’ve sent me newly-avowed regular readers! I hope you’ve gotten one or two of my five. 😉

  4. Wow. Thanks for the very flattering compliment. It should be immortalized on a t-shirt. I only hope my other four readers feel the same. If I ever finish that great American novel, I’m definitely contacting you for the cover blurb. Screw Jonathan Franzen and his ilk.

    Don’t worry about wowing the masses, kiddo–it’s an empty pursuit, and it isn’t like we’re getting paid by the page hit. If avocados or bin Laden is what’s on your mind, man, just go for it. Put ’em together in one post, and I’ll read that.

    • Oooh, a t-shirt! That would be fun. I can’t believe you only have four readers; you’ve been FP’d after all. But I’ll be happy to take Jonathan Franzen’s spot on your book cover. I’ll start thinking of something to say now.

Leave a Reply

