Truck Nuts Boasting, and My Open Ire

You can tell a lot about people by how they present themselves to the world. I’m guessing that’s particularly true of the guy I saw in a very large pickup truck last night. I first noticed the glint of something metallic from beneath the bumper. Then I realized it was a set of chrome truck nuts.

Image

      …Only bigger.

 

Nice, right? Oh, but that wasn’t all. There were actually two sets of gleaming gonads dangling from this dude’s outsized pickup tail. Two. Above them, on the left side of the bumper, I noticed a sticker. The word LICK, printed in white on a black background. Hmmm. Sure enough, over on the right side of the bumper was another such sticker, which said MY.

And yes. These words were in all caps. I guess they would kind of have to be.

The syntax could have been better, because visually, the license plate and the truck nuts were both hung between the stickers (though the steely sacks were descended), implying that one should “LICK (nuts) (tag) (nuts) MY.” But then again, it may be safe to assume this guy doesn’t know what syntax is. “Syntax? Ain’t that uh kind uh tampon?”

But perhaps the best part was the little detail I noticed after all of this. It was a cross decal, smack in the center of the tailgate. It was small… smaller than any of the dangling participles below the bumper.  Smaller than LICK and MY. But apparently, the truck’s owner believed it conveyed an appropriate proportion of Christian value. A little bit of Jesus goes a long way.

It’s worth noting that, syntactically, it now appeared that the driver wanted the Lord Jesus to LICK (nuts) (tag) (nuts) MY.

I’m sure this truck owner fancies himself quite clever. And he’s not the first person to think that smacking a religious symbol – a Christian religious symbol (that’s important) – on an otherwise distasteful, immature, offensive and confrontational display is redemptive and proves he is a man of good intention. You know, like the Confederate flag. Why, that’s the cross of St. Andrew on that red field. At the time it was created, it didn’t quite mean what we see now. But God, Jesus and the Constitution give me the right to say and display whatever I want. And goddammit, I will. And f— you if you don’t like it.

Oh, I love irony.

See, I get tired of people using their supposed faith in Jesus as an excuse to treat people badly or to be brashly disrespectful of literally everyone who comes along. When Joseph and Mary traveled out of Bethlehem, they didn’t do it with a sticker on the donkey that said KISS MY…  And I get tired of people insisting that heritage or culture gives them the right to display offensive things. I mean, I’m half-German. You don’t see me flying a flag of the Third Reich and claiming heritage or culture as my motive.

But I’m making assumptions. Yes. I’m certainly not saying this pickup owner is a Nazi or a racist. But to some degree, I am assuming he is an unintelligent, inarticulate, somewhat self-righteous cretin. And I might be wrong. He could be the nicest guy in the world. The nicest guy in the world who somehow thinks it’s not a serious medical misstep to have two pairs of nuts.

And yes, in my assumptions I demonstrate that I might be an elitist, sacrilegious, also somewhat self-righteous snob. Which is almost definitely true at times.

But nothing on my car or my person declares to everyone on a highway that they can lick me, in any given place. In the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost. Which I frankly believe does make me a better person, at least so far as commuters are concerned.

Usually, the type of person who puts on such displays is also the type to loudly declare that they don’t care what people think of them. Good for them. Because if they did care, they probably wouldn’t like what they learned. You could say the same for me, I suppose, but I’d rather be thought an elitist, godless snob than a boorish neanderthal who claims to love Jesus.  I do love Jesus. Not perfectly, but without the need to turn my car into a mobile billboard for assholery.

Then again, I think umprompted and exaggerated displays of manhood are indicative of overcompensation.

In which case… maybe it’s more like peanuts coasting on a leaky tire.

Poor fella.

17 thoughts on “Truck Nuts Boasting, and My Open Ire

  1. Hahahaha. That last line says it all. In our little chunk of Tennessee you see this completely offensive mix of vulgar and uber religious every. single. day. All I can think is that either they absolutely don’t get the irony, or they’re smarter than I am and I haven’t caught up. Either way, it’s gross.

  2. First time I saw one of those Truck Nuts things I was in literal disbelief that I was seeing it. Same thing goes for the first time I saw a bumper sticker telling every person behind that they should go f*** themselves. Put the two together and throw in the Christian self-congratulations/”it’s okay, everything I do I sanctioned by the Bible” and, wow. That is one simple-minded, hateful, sad person.

    • In my experience, they’re also either always laughing really loudly or always angry. Or they swing from one extreme to the other. Hmm. maybe the truck nuts are symbolic of the swinging. Or the need for an adjustment in attitude.

    • Oh, you won’t have to look hard. Um.. er… with great concentration. When you see them, you’ll go, “What is that?” and then you’ll slllowlly realize it. Like the Byronic Man, you’ll be incredulous at first.

  3. Well, I just came by to wish you a merry Christmas and I get truck nuts, something I’ve never seen or heard of. Vehicle hypocrisy makes me nuts (if you’ll pardon the expression). It’s mostly only Christians because it’s mostly Christians that advertise religion on their autos. Still, I’ve been cut off by someone with one of those annoying COEXIST stickers, or by an Easy Does It, which is almost always AA. I tend to look down on car stickers in general. You know … Baby on Board … I love my dog … I’d rather be (insert banal activity). Anyway.

    Hope you had a very merry Christmas

    • Merry Truck Nuts! Wait…
      I appreciate bumper stickers of irony. “My dog is smarter than your honor roll student,” for example. I love that one. Otherwise, I don’t care for them at all.

Leave a Reply

