This Thing Which I Stole From the Internet

Because aside from #s 8, 11 and 12… YES.

 

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

1. When you need to take breaks and recharge after socializing for too long.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

I’m not antisocial, I swear! I just need to recharge my introvert juices!

2. When people mistake your thoughtful look for resting bitch face.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

You like to give thoughtful answers, but sometimes people assume you’re just silently judging them.

3. When your friend wants to invite more people over, and you don’t want to sound like a dick by saying no.

When your friend wants to invite more people over, and you don't want to sound like a dick by saying no.

You might even secretly like a little more company, even if it does give you anxiety.

4. When spending a heavenly weekend alone means that you’re missing out on time with friends.

When spending a heavenly weekend alone means that you're missing out on time with friends.

5. And the fear that by doing so, you’re slowly turning into a hermit…

And the fear that by doing so, you're slowly turning into a hermit...

6. Who will likely die alone.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

7. Having visitors stay with you is a nightmare, because it means you have to be on at ALL TIMES.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

8. When people stop inviting you places because you keep canceling plans.

When people stop inviting you places because you keep canceling plans.

9. Too many social obligations + no alone time = a total grump.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

10. When you’re asked to do a group project, and know that you’re going to hate every minute of it.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

11. When your ride at a party doesn’t want to leave early, and no one seems to understand your distress.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

12. When you hear this question, and your palms start to sweat with anxiety.

When you hear this question, and your palms start to sweat with anxiety.

Because the answer is “no,” but you don’t want to hurt their feelings.

13. When you hear, “Are you OK?” or “Why are you so quiet?” for the umpteenth time.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

Just because you prefer to listen or only speak up when there’s something important to say.

14. Trying to be extra outgoing when you flirt so your crush doesn’t think you hate them.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

Seriously, I just have resting bitch face, it’s not you!

15. That feeling of dread that washes over you when the phone rings and you’re not mentally prepared to chat.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

16. When you have to deal with that one friend who ALWAYS wants to hang out, and you ALWAYS have to say this:

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

17. When you have an awesome night out, but have to deal with feeling exhausted for days after the fact.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

18. When people pressure you to be more social, whether you like it or not.

When people pressure you to be more social, whether you like it or not.

19. When you’re really excited to go out, but those good feelings don’t last long enough.

When you're really excited to go out, but those good feelings don't last long enough.

20. When you’re trying to get something done at work, but you can’t, because everyone else is talking.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

21. When someone calls you out for daydreaming too much.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

22. When you carry a book to a public place so no one will bug you, but other people take that as a conversation starter.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

23. When people make you feel weird for wanting to do things by yourself.

When people make you feel weird for wanting to do things by yourself.

24. When someone interrupts your thoughts, and you get irrationally angry.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

25. When people can’t seem to grasp that being in small groups is where you excel the most.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

26. And when you need to be completely alone so you can recharge and get back to being awesome.

27 Problems Only Introverts Will Understand

27. Because even though introverts are misunderstood constantly, you know this to be true:

Because even though introverts are misunderstood constantly, you know this to be true:

 

19 thoughts on “This Thing Which I Stole From the Internet

  1. ooh – moving pictures, cool! I’m not an introvert, but I get this. This weekend I’m spending quality time all alone with me. In fact, today is my birthday and I’m by myself – and that is totally fine. I have people around me day and night and, while I love my husband, I’m looking forward to some down time. Now if he had only taken the dog with him…

  2. Love this! Don’t know if you’ve ever read Party of One: A Loner’s Manifesto by Anneli Rufus. Read it 2 years ago at 35 and it was like finally realizing who I am. It was, I think, where I first understood that “recharging” is what I needed after hanging out with people. Whenever I take time off to visit family, or they visit me, I take an extra day off work to be alone. I’ve always done that and now that more introverts are…coming out…I found I’m not that weird.
    I still occasionally get, “What’s wrong?” to which I can now answer, “Nothing, it’s just resting face.”

    • I haven’t read that… probably because I hadn’t heard of it and now likely because I don’t like the connotations attached to the words “loner” and “manifesto.” (Seriously – how do you not get flagged somewhere by Homeland Security for reading that?) I do the same thing now – take a day to be by myself after a vacation or having company – or at least I wish I could. And I just came off a vacation where I was confronted because I was too quiet and clearly that meant something was wrong with me.

      • I did read about your recent vacation and sorry about that. My sister and mom had a similar shouting match a few years back,it was mostly repressed. My favorite part of the book is how she differentiates between loners and outcasts. Outcasts are the reason loners get a bad name. A Big part of the book is fighting that connotation of loner.
        Also, I just assume I’m on an NSA/Homeland list. I read a lot of anti-Bush books during his tenure. 🙂

      • Interesting angle for the book. I might check that out. Pithypants has also recommended a book to me that I believe was simply called “Introvert.” I think she said it’s what made her realize she fit the bill.

        I was once on Southwest Airlines’ security watchlist. I still have no idea why. Never read Mein Kampf or anything like that. Maybe it was because of The Catcher In the Rye.

  3. While I don’t consider myself a total introvert I’m madly in love with one and I’ve had to learn, over the last two years, all the things you’ve listed above. And now that I’ve been schooled, I’d say that I love being in a relationship with him even more. I appreciate his need to recharge, I appreciate his need NOT to talk all the time (I do enough for both of us), I appreciate his need NOT to be with me all the time, or NOT to be with other people all the time, I appreciate how he doesn’t just “answer” a question I pose off the top of his head and actually thinks about his answer. I love an introvert and if more people understood all that you’ve put out there, and just accepted that everyone is different and that’s OKAY, the world would be a much more cohesive place.

    • I’m fortunately not usually a socially awkward introvert. If I’m in a group I like and I chose to be there (rather than feeling obligated), I can be as extroverted as the next person. But over the last five years or so, things like this thing I stole from the internet have led me to realize… I really am more introverted than extroverted. And I probably always have been!

  4. Well, I’d never say I was an introvert but I took your damn test (it was a test, wasn’t it?) and now I’m not so sure. Absolute yes on 1,9,17,20,22,23,24, 26,27. On 15 (phone anxiety) I avoid that with caller ID. And 25, except that I work best one-on-one. I suppose that qualifies as a small group. Now I suppose I need to reassess my self-image. Damn.

    • Leave it to the engineer to think it was a test. 🙂 I like to think of it more as a match game. Haha.
      My absolutes were 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10. 13, 15, 17, 19 (under some conditions), 23, 25, 26 and 27 (though I resent the video game joystick in that cartoon character’s hands).
      Soooo, I guess I score pretty high on the Introvert Scale.
      Wait. This is not in any way an official assessment of introversion. I forgot.

  5. How have I not seen this before? Pretty much every one of them sang to me. Separately… is #23 an actual screenshot from an actual “news” segment? WTF? People need tips for hanging out alone? Maybe I should write a book about that, called, “Being Comfortable in Your Own Skin.”

    • I believe it is. I’ve seen that somewhat psycho-looking woman on that network before. But I wouldn’t be surprised if it was done on, say, Thanksgiving or a similar holiday when exactly no one is watching and nothing is happening and they have to fill 24 hours anyway. And YES. Write that book.

  6. Yep. This is so very much me. So. Very. Much.

    Question: Did you add all the pics and gifs, or was that part of the entire package of this thing from the internet? Because if you did . . . wow, that’s a time commitment. But I love so much everything about those stills and vids. (Gilmore Girls, sniff).

Leave a Reply

